Frequently Asked Questions for Medical Marijuana
Do I Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Virginia?
The qualifying conditions identified by the Virginia Bureau of Health include any chronic or debilitating condition that, in the professional judgment of a physician, might be helped by the use of medical cannabis.
Why do I need a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
A Virginia medical marijuana card shows that your name has been added to the Virginia Medical Marijuana Registry by a Licensed Virginia Physician. With this card, you can:
1. Buy marijuana from dispensaries in the State of Virginia
2. Possess marijuana and marijuana products in Virginia
3. Consume marijuana and marijuana products in Virginia
A Virginia medical marijuana card is a personal identification card that shows the patient is a legal Virginia registered Medical Marijuana Patient.
How do I get a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
To obtain your medical marijuana card in Virginia, you must be diagnosed, by a licensed Virginia physician, with a medical condition that the physician deems can benefit from medical marijuana treatment. Our staff at Virginia Marijuana Card is here to simplify the process, connecting you with a certified doctor and filing all your necessary paperwork!
You must visit a state-licensed physician (nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant) to obtain a physician certification. You will then apply for an identification card from the Virginia Bureau of Health.
Am I guaranteed to get approved for Medical Marijuana after visiting a Virginia Marijuana Doctor office?
We can’t guarantee approval for anyone, as the doctor is the only person that makes the determination whether or not a patient qualifies. To make it more likely that you receive approval from the doctor, we recommend that you bring as much information as possible to your appointment regarding your medical condition and past treatments. However, you do not have to worry as the entire cost of an appointment will be a nominal flat fee if you, for whatever reason, are not approved by the doctor.
What conditions make a patient eligible for Medical Marijuana in the State of Virginia?
A “qualifying patient” must have a condition or symptom of, or side effect they believe will benefit from medical cannabis treatment. Some conditions may include:
How do I get a Virginia Marijuana Card?
Our team specializes in helping patients across the Commonwealth of Virginia obtain their medical marijuana cards. Give us a call at 888-633-5808 or send us a message, if you’d like to find out more information about how you can get your Virginia Marijuana Card.
When will I receive my identification card?
Your application will be processed by the Board of Pharmacy. If your application is approved, you will receive your card within 30 days.
What is the cost for a medical marijuana card in Virginia?
Some doctors charge an exorbitant amount of money just for an initial examination. We feel strongly that if you qualify for medical marijuana, you shouldn't have trouble accessing it due to cost. As such, we offer discounts for veterans and SSI/SSDI patients. After the first appointment, all required follow-ups are free for 12 months.
If my registry identification card expired and I didn’t submit my renewal application before the deadline, am I still eligible to purchase medical marijuana?
No. When your card expires, the legal protection offered by the Virginia Medical Marijuana Act is expired. You may still submit your renewal application.
Where can patients purchase medical marijuana?
Once you have obtained a recommendation from a registered doctor and received your Virginia Medical Marijuana Card, you will be able to purchase medical cannabis products at any of the licensed dispensaries located throughout Virginia.
Do I have to buy my marijuana from one of the dispensaries?
Yes. To be protected under the Virginia Medical Marijuana Act, your marijuana must be labeled from one of the Virginia dispensaries.
Where are dispensaries located in Virginia?
We do not know the exact number of approved dispensaries. For a detailed look at where to find your nearest dispensary, visit our dispensary location master list.
How much medical marijuana can be purchased from the dispensary?
Patients may receive up to a 90-day supply per visit at the dispensary.
Will my insurance or Medicaid pay for my marijuana?
Since marijuana is not federally legal, insurance will not cover the cost of the card or product.
How much will medical marijuana cost?
The cost of medical marijuana will be set by each dispensary. At this point, it isn’t clear what those prices will be exactly. With 4 dispensaries located throughout the state of Virginia, we hope that the competition will keep prices low and affordable.
What is a Registered Agent and how many can I have?
Registered agents, or caregivers, are individuals who may visit dispensaries and purchase medical marijuana products on behalf of a patient. All registered agents must first register with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy before accessing dispensaries.
How do I apply to be a Registered Agent?
In order to become a registered agent for a patient, you must apply through the Virginia Board of Pharmacy and pay a $25 registration fee.
Do I need to be a Registered Agent in order to purchase medical marijuana for a minor?
Yes. Qualified patients under 18 years of age cannot purchase medical marijuana from a dispensary. The legal guardian or parent is required to apply as a registered agent to buy medical marijuana for a minor.
How many patients can a Registered Agent serve?
A registered agent may serve no more than two registered patients.
Can my employer still drug test me for marijuana if I am a registered patient?
Unfortunately, the answer is yes, they can. Virginia does not provide protection to medical marijuana patients from employee drug testing. It will be left to the discretion of each employer whether they wish to recognize an employee's medical marijuana approval as an exemption to company drug testing policies. However, employers are prohibited from discriminating against an individual in hiring, termination, or any term or condition of employment based on an individual’s past or present status as a caregiver or a qualifying patient.
How do I get a Marijuana Card in Virginia?
We specialize in helping patients obtain their medical marijuana card in Virginia, and our doctors will be happy to help you obtain your card. However, the state isn't yet issuing medical marijuana cards, but they should be doing so in a few months. Send us a message, give us a call, or sign up for our mailing list if you'd like to be notified when medical marijuana cards are available in Virginia.
What is the cost for a Medical Marijuana Card in Virginia?
Once you've been approved by a certified doctor and received a medical marijuana recommendation, you will need to submit an application to the Virginia Bureau of Health in order to receive your marijuana card and a $50 state-registration fee. This card will expire after 12 months.
What will dispensaries charge patients for Medical Marijuana in Virginia?
The cost of medical marijuana in Virginia will be set by each dispensary individually and the free market will ultimately determine what the final price will be to patients. At this point, it is unclear what that price will be, but since dispensaries set their own prices, it is worth looking around for the best deals.
Are patients allowed to grow their own Medical Marijuana at home?
No, patients in Virginia, as well as across the state of Virginia, are prohibited from growing medical marijuana at home under Virginia law. All medical marijuana is required to be purchased from one of the state-approved dispensary locations.
Is my personal information kept confidential?
The privacy of our patients is our top priority. We go through great lengths to ensure that all patient information is protected and kept confidential in our HIPAA-compliant file storage system. We will also never share any of your contact information with any third party.